My love for cilantro.

This morning I decided to start the day off right and make a delicious and nutritious breakfast. I was inspired after reading today’s post by the nice people over at Turntable Kitchen who offer up a wonderful variety of weekly recipes. Today’s recipe was for Avocado Toast with a Poached Egg, and since you already know my love for avocado, clearly this was a go. Also, I’ve been wanting to work on my egg poaching skills and the fact that it’s a bit healthier is always a plus. I altered the recipe just a tad by smashing up the avocado and adding lime + s + p + chopped tomatoes. I also finished it off with a shake of cayenne pepper to add a little kick.

Avocado Toast + Cilantro + Poached Egg

As I began to prep, taking out the eggs, the bread, the avocados and the cilantro…I began to think about just how much I adore cilantro these days. I actually used to despise it. Back in the day (before my love of cilantro), my best friend’s mother would make me my own small batch of homemade salsa sans cilantro because she (a) is the sweetest ever and (b) knew that I was not a fan of it. I specifically remember my sister telling me that I was missing out on pure goodness because I didn’t like cilantro! Boy was she was right. Nowadays, I find myself thinking about just how much I love it whenever I cook with it, which is exactly what happened today. So naturally, I decided I would write a post about it and explain all of the wonderful benefits of eating cilantro as well as a little additional inspiration for what to use it in. (I want everyone to love it as much as I do, clearly.)

Fresh Cilantro

// CILANTRO //

: Native to the Mediterranean, this herb has become a staple in a variety of cultures around the world. It is widely used in Mexico, Caribbean and Asian cooking.
: A member of the Parsley family, cilantro is edible from root to flower.
: Though many confuse cilantro and coriander, the leaf is actually cilantro (the herb) and the round tan seed is coriander (the spice).
: When purchasing, look for vibrant, fresh-looking leaves that have not begun to wilt or fade in color.
: There is an ‘anti-cilantro’ website for cilantro haters ihatecilantro.com
: When steeped in tea, cilantro is said to have stomach soothing properties.
: In large quantities, cilantro provides Vitamin A and C.
: Acts to increase HDL cholesterol (the good kind), and reduces LDL cholesterol (the bad kind)
: A source of iron, magnesium, and is helpful in fighting anemia. Can ease cramps, stomach aches and mood swings.
: Contains immune-boosting properties
(For more information, go to Global Healing Center)

Recommended uses
: Goes well with avocado, chicken, fish, lamb, lentils, peppers, pork, rice, quinoa, salads, fresh salsa, shellfish, tomatoes and greek yogurt
: Fresh salsa // tomatoes + onion + garlic clove + lemon juice + s + p + lots of cilantro + jalapenos + splash of olive oil
: Fish/Chicken/Carnita/Sweet Potato/fill-in-the-blank Tacos
: Make-your-own Chipotle rice // brown rice + lime + salt + cilantro
: Cilantro Pesto
: Quinoa salad // quinoa + black beans + avocado + corn + lime + s + p + cilantro + olive oil + ground cumin + feta (optional)

Storage:
: The best method for storing is to immediately place cilantro (stems down) in a glass of water. Cover loosely with a plastic bag and store in refrigerator.
: Do not wash herb until ready for use.
: Cilantro will last up to 1 week if stored properly.
: To save for a later day, freeze cilantro in a single layer within a zip-lock bag. Will last up to 6 months. No need to thaw before use.

Leave a Reply

