Oh Brussel Sprout…

As promised initially, I have finally started the hands-on research to get this thesis off the ground. Post by post, I hope to include new foods, some you are familiar with and hopefully some that you may not be. I hope that you will find this blog to be a great resource both before and after your grocery store experience. The foods that this blog will focus on are those that exist on the perimeter of the grocery store. Rather than surpass items that you are unfamiliar with, I hope to entice you to try new foods, new wholesome foods that is.

First things first…the brussel sprout. When I was little, the only way my mother could get us to eat these mini-cabbage wannabes was to smother them with cheese. Mmmmmm…right?! Wrong. Even then they were so gross. They were steamed and squishy and oh-so-unappetizing. Now, I don’t mean to talk bad about my momma’s cooking, because boy can she cook. I count myself lucky to have been raised by two such loving parents that are both very skilled in the kitchen. It’s just that brussel sprouts, well, they just need to be prepared the right way to maximize their flavor, a way that none of us knew about until years later.

I believe it was my oldest sister, Stephanie, who first had them prepared this way while eating at a restaurant possibly in Palo Alto or New York. From then on, our family has changed our views of the little brussel sprout. We now look at them adoringly and speak about them as if they were a beloved member of our family, sort of. (Maybe I’m exaggerating a little.)

So what is this preparation you ask? Well, all you need is a little olive oil, salt, pepper and garlic.

Pepper + Salt + Garlic + Olive Oil = The Perfect Formula

Cut of ends, peel off first layer.

Mix with olive oil, salt, pepper and garlic.

The Brussel Sprout:

Oven: 375 degrees

Trim ends off of brussel sprouts.
Peel off outer layer.
Cut in half.

Place on pan.
Add garlic + salt + pepper + olive oil.

Put in oven.
Toss occasionally (~45 minutes total oven time.)
Done when crispy on outside and soft inside (taste testing is key, just let it cool off a bit first).

Serve on a pretty plate. (optional)

•  •  •

Possible Additions (If you want to get real crazy)
• Cooked Bacon (broken into bits)
• Cooked Ham (again, cut up into small pieces)
• Balsamic Vinegar

Roasted Brussel Sprouts (under Tungsten lighting).

Why are there no measurements you might wonder?

I don’t want you to feel that there is a wrong and a right way to do this. If you really like pepper, then add a lot of pepper, if you like a lot of garlic, then add more garlic. I will only be posting pictures of the ingredients I use to give you an idea of how much I used in my preparation of the featured food item. There are just some things we need to learn through experience, and a lot of what is going to happen in this blog will be purely that. There will be great things and there will be terrible things. We just have to be willing to take a chance. Just keep in mind that if you add a lot of liquid (or oil) to something, it will become really soft. If you like that, then great, if not, then just maybe use it sparingly.

There are going to be lots of food items that I have never even bought myself, especially as a household of one, that I have WANTED to buy but haven’t gotten up the courage to buy because I’m afraid I’m going to either a. never use it or b. I’m going to ruin it. So…here’s to whole foods (and no longer putting money into Big Food’s pockets) and our health!

Cheers!


5 thoughts on “Oh Brussel Sprout…

  1. We tried it and love it. For our meat eaters, the addition of bacon put’s a great dish over the top. So simple and surprising. Even kids love it.

  2. Just made these for a houseful of buddies in the Russian River Valley. I literally consulted your blog as I was propping. Complete win!

Leave a Reply

